Question: More and more people are using the internet to do their tasks rather than in person (e.g. banking, shopping, hotel booking, etc.). Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era of times, the internet plays a central role in shaping day-to-day services, say, banking, electronic purchasing, and even hotel reservation. Accordingly, the users of these services are rapidly increasing which were earlier availed through inter-personal communication. In this essay, I will shed light on the virtues and hiccups of these and will provide an overall opinion. Are there myriads of benefits of online services? Certainly, there are. Perhaps the most evident benefit of e-service is fast availability. By using the websites, one can easily transfer funds, purchase products, and even reserve a hotel room with a press of a button via their cellphones, laptops, etc. In this way, such services have become far more quickly than traditional ways. Another visible merit of electronic service is special benefits. For instance, some big hotels namely, The Noor Jahan Grand, and The Supreme provide at least 10% off discounts for their customers if they book a room over their FaceBook page rather than in person. Despite these arguments, it is believed that internet-based services sometimes manipulate individual customers in two ways. First and foremost, one can easily get hacked while availing of online-based consumer services, say, banking, shopping, and many more. In this way, a hacker can even make a nightmare by accessing their private online documents, such as photos, certificates, and so on. Secondly, e-service sometimes involves hidden costs. That is to say, a user of such service has to pay at least a 10% of more money for VAT which is not prevalent for in-person transactions. Therefore, online services more often than not cost a fortune to a customer. To sum up, using the internet for doing daily tasks has some evident virtues, for example, quick service, and also rewarding even though a get easily manipulated. I believe the advantages of such services outweigh the demerits.