Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

In the prevailing era, the usage of packaging made of polymer has escalated, However plastic has made shopping easier for individuals, despite the fact, that it has posed a serious menace to the surroundings. I believe the imposition of some viable remedies could assist to curb and tackle the damage triumphantly. Admittedly, Plastic has been used in various kinds of packaging such as bags, wrappings and bottles etc. However, it has caused detrimental effects on the atmosphere, here the foremost damage observed is a shortage of food because plastic is not biodegradable thus it is making land infertile and preventing plants from germinating. Moreover, the recycling process of plastic is expensive, therefore, they are straightaway disposed off in the sea or ocean. Consequently it is posing a threat to marine life. To elucidate further with an example, recent research conducted under the supervision of the World Health Organization states that, marine animals are dying because they ingest small particles of polythene and nylon that are disposed of in the ocean, and due to this phenomenon fishermen are not getting enough fishes thus, supply of food for humans has been effected. On the other, both government officials and citizens can take steps which would help to eradicate the problem. Such as should individuals should plummet the use such food items that are having plastic packaging, therefore, there would be less disposal of polymer material. Moreover, local authorities should supply alternative material for shopping such as bags made of paper and bottles made of tin that is easily recyclable. In conclusion, with the adoption of various adequate methods as a, nation we can easily combat and save our planet.