In many countries today crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

It is true that more audiences are drawn to crime novels and TV crime dramas. This phenomenon might be caused by several reasons, and I do believe this tendency will lead to negative effects. There are two main reasons why crime novels and TV crime dramas become more popular. Firstly, the attractive content will catch more attention from audiences. Directors or writers aim to enhance the curiosity of audiences by creating suspenseful content. For example, the story stops abruptly when it comes to the most exciting part, making audiences eager to know what will happen next. In addition, a safe social environment might be a cause of the popularity of crime literature and TV dramas. It is hard for people to contact crime activities in real life, and these works are the only channels for them to gather information about criminals. However, the spread of crime novels and TV crime dramas will impact teenagers negatively. Teenagers cannot identify what the correct behavior is, and they will follow the dangerous performance of criminals. For instance, some children will play with knives after they see criminals use knives to kill people in TV dramas. Furthermore, the popularity of crime literature and television dramas will enhance the sense of fear of the public. Ordinary people will think the crime rate in the real world is as high as in the story, and it might make them stressed. In conclusion, while more people love to read crime books and watch television dramas, this tendency is likely to make teenagers behave in a wrong way and enhance the sense of fear of the public.