Many people believe that international tourism has negative implication on their countries. What is the reason for it? What can be done to change the negative attitude towards international tourism?

People love to travel around nowadays, and tourism can propel the country's economic development. However, tourism has some drawbacks, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, travel increases the local prices. Take a Chinese city-Chengdu as an example. Since Chengdu has been marked as a tourist city, the local prices have increased dramatically. Therefore, it can be concluded that If a place attracts a large number of tourists to come every year, then the local prices are bound to rise. Besides, as we know, the spending power of the visitors outstrips the locals; in other words, things we think are affordable but for locals are too expensive. Hence, under the situation of massive tourists, the local prices will rise inevitably, and it will adversely affect the local's interest unquestionably. Second, over-tourism damages the local environment. The pollution is from two sides, one is from the vehicles the visitors take; the other is from the places where those tourists live. On account of numerous tourists, the vehicles they take and hotels where they live will contribute to air pollution and water pollution. Because their number outstrips the number that the local environment can handle; hence. such a situation can give rise to climate change and brings about nature to collapse. Third, over-tourism destroys the local ecosystem. For example, it brings about deforestation; countless trees are cut down to build the hotels for the guests. It's worth mentioning that the local animals' habitats are lost too because of deforestation. Animals are forced to change their living habits or forced to leave their own places. As a result, this phenomenon can lead to extinction in some animals. Here are some solutions that can change the negative attitude towards international tourism. First, the government must protect the locals ' interests rather than only care about tourists. For example, to limit the local price to a certain range. Second, the government can set up some punishments for the uncivilized behaviour of guests, such as throwing the trash. Third, tourists should know that it's also their responsibility to protect the local environment. In conclusion, over-tourism indeed has some negative impacts on the locals; however, the situation can be improved by following the solutions above.