Today’s teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations

Despite the continuous improvement in the standard of living, many people believe that the younger generation suffers more stress than older people. In this essay, the argument about teenagers’ stress will be discussed. From an educational perspective, teenager has significantly greater pressure than the older generation. A majority group of parents want their child to perform well in academics and compete for the best job in the future, such as in the future, it undoubtedly exerts pressure on juvenile. For example, in my nation, most high school students not only focus on school-based learning but also focus on participating in the tutorial class, which decreases the time to release their stress. Besides, consumerism is widely promoted among youngster, which causes this invisible stress in the teenager is more significant than in the older generation. The improvement in the shopping habit shifting from shopping in reality to virtual-based makes the teenager easier to get in touch with the latest products. Moreover, a majority of digital technologies designed with a concept called planned obsolescence means that the current version of a given product will become outdated or useless within a known period. Also, through films and online social media, they can see the celebrities with expensive jewellery or textile, which potentially drives them to imitate them. Consequently, teenagers might feel pressure when they acquire the latest product. Some people claim that consumerism happens in every generation, not only appearing in the young generation. Although it is true that technology development is rocketed in recent years, youth are easier to receive the latest product’ information than previous, and the more celebrities and the improvement in the advertisement promotion significantly cause the younger generation to feel tremendous pressure than the older. In conclusion, academic competition and advocating for consumerism are the two major factors that cause the younger generation to have more significant stress than the older generation today.