In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary settings, an increasing number of people find e-books more preferable for reading than the hardcopy of books. However, in my opinion, there are more advantages in terms of both environmentally and economically, such as reduced paper cost and usage, as compared to drawbacks. To commence with, while, there are several benefits of this trend, the most prominent one is the reduction in paper manufacturing because of the low demand for hard copies. For example, barrels of oil are extracted, tonnes of trees are cut down, and gallons of water are used to make one ream of paper, and unfortunately, all this poses serious threats to the environment. Moreover, not only is nature affected by this practice but the wildlife species are also wiped out during the cutting of jungles. Therefore, reading digitally will prove to be a major contributor to saving both nature and the animal kingdom. Another merit is that the gradual shift to electronic books will decrease demand for page production for the book; consequently, this will prove to be advantageous for the whole economy in terms of cost and pricing. For instance, Sweden has taken ahead steps to cut down on paper production by promoting and launching electronic libraries for the readers. As a result, the country claims to find this new initiative both budget-friendly and eco-friendly. Hence, it becomes imperative to promote virtual reading to save economies as humans heavily rely on hardcopies for reading all sorts of materials. In conclusion, however, there are a few demerits associated with virtual reading, such as weak eyesight and poor body postures, but doctors suggested precautions and angels for the correct body alignment for reading online. Therefore, in my overall opinion, the positives outweigh the negatives. Lastly, it is also recommended to give limited time to skimming and scanning online articles, documents, newspapers, novels, et.cetera, as to stay physically and mentally healthy.