Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measure. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The significance of health has been highlighted as life expectancy prolongs. From this aspect, questions about whether out of a nation's health budget, a large percentage should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive action arise. In my opinion, the authorities should spend the health budget for health education and preventive actions rather than treatment to some extent. Irrefutably, an increase in the awareness of health occurs. This is because, with the government's support, individuals can learn about a wide range of diseases and general symptoms of deadly illness. This obviously leads to annual medical examinations and this in turn allows them to early discover the probability of diseases, such as cancer, stroke, and dementia. What is more, although heavy pressure on the government's budget cannot be overlooked, enormous treatment expenses are reduced. In actual fact, health studies undertaken by experts have revealed that those who are served fundamental medical services strive to exercise to enhance their health and attempt to avoid harmful foods and habits, so they are less likely to have fatal diseases. Nevertheless, the support of appropriate treatment is significant. In other words, since those who suffer from fatal diseases struggle with expensive treatment expenses, they decide to hold or give up suitable treatment on time, so the patient's health greatly deteriorates. To conclude, the support of appropriate treatment is significant, but an increase in the awareness of health occurs and enormous treatment expenses are reduced. Thus, the authorities should spend on health budget for health education and preventive actions rather than treatment.