Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A number of people believe that zoos are supposed to be banned because they are hard on animals. However, some groups of persons opine that keeping animals in cages is beneficial as wild beasts are protected by that means. This dissertation will examine both of these views and argue in favour of the letter. On the one hand, some individuals think that menageries are brutal when it comes to keeping wild animals. This is based on the fact that, these animals have been forcefully taken away from their natural habitat and locked in an unnatural environment as a result they totally miss every bit of nature that they used to enjoy. For instance, lions are known to love exploring the forest, when they are caged they tend to be aggressive because they have lost their freedom. For this reason, people suggest zoological gardens are barbaric and should be closed down. On the other hand, another school of thought say that wildlife parks are advantageous. The reason behind this argument is that beast may sometimes lose their way and as such become exposed to the danger of being killed. For example, animal keepers in my city have most of the time caught stray animals and saved them in zoos. A lot of beings would have died if not for the protection they get in the zoo. In my opinion, zoos are of paramount importance, this is due to the fact that in the zoological gardens animals are preserved and variant species are prevented from going extinct. To illustrate, research on animal population and extinction shows that some animals were recovered after disappearing from the forest because they were found in the park. In conclusion, there is a contentious argument over whether zoos should be closed down or not. Admittedly, in zoos beasts are restricted and they do not have their freedom anymore. However, I concur with the idea that wildlife parks are pivotal as animals are saved from being harmed.