Somepeople say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to.How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

The advancement in technology had led to a shrinking world. In this day and age, travelling is one of the most common activities people engage in. Tourism itself is an input of foreign money into the county, yet some argue that tourists are destroying one's community and environment. To begin with, some believe that tourism destroys the ecosystem and culture. For instance, since the release of the movie Harry Potter, Fresh Water West in West Wales has attracted thousands of visitors annually. The dunes system was where the fictional character Dobby died, as a, result a swarm of visitors tried to find his 'grave' and created a stone grave for him. The damage to the dunes was huge, marram grass which would usually grow in the area stopped growing. This suggests tourism brings destruction to the natural environment. To reduce the harm done to local areas, tourists should respect the protect the ecosystems. Using my example in freshwater west, tourists should not build stone graves nor leave any rubbish behind when they leave, they should be aware of the problems that they may cause if they change the local environment. On the other hand, tourism brings economic activity to host countries. One example would be Myeongdong in South Korea, before the pandemic, numerous tourists travel to Korea and visited famous sightseeing spots in Myeondong, this has allowed the rapid growth of businesses in the Myeondong area. However, since the start of COVD-19, tourism has been affected exponentially, and foreigners are not allowed in for tourism purposes. As a result, shops in the area faced an enormous drop in sales revenue and had to close down. This suggests tourism brings a significant economic boost to counties. All in all, although tourism may bring negative impacts to the local environment, with education in place, we could raise awareness and could prevent such incidents from happening again. Hence, tourism should be promoted as it promotes a country's culture and boosts the economy.