Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a majority of students take a year break between graduating from high school and before entering the educational institution. Despite it affecting their academic progress, it depends on how the time is spent, it significantly leads to an invaluable experience in continuing their academics at the University. For example, one of the most popular reasons for taking an educational break is to travel, this offers the students a face-to-face opportunity to get in touch with different cultures, meet new friends, expending the relationships and connections widely. Alternatively, part of the students chose to work during the educational break, such as the internship, part-time jobs, or could be a voluntary based. The skills and experience not only facilitate studying at the University but also advantage seeking a career after graduating. Meanwhile, the educational break provides the time and opportunities for the students to consider their future, choosing a proper and suitable major before studying at the University. However, taking a year of educational break may cause some drawbacks. It is significantly laid down the progress on the educational path, also taking a year break possible distracts the concentration on academics and reduces the motivation for academics. Additionally, the break might cause the offer in the University blown off because of the attractive job offer or travelling plan, and the requirements of each University ’s course might change every year, possible, student academics qualification might not reach the requirements in the next year, thus the students required to retake the examination, competing the University Degree. Nevertheless, the benefit of taking an educational break is outweigh the downside. It gives them the time to reflect on themselves, provides the chance to meet different cultures and nationalities, and gains the experience in working. Those experiences gained during the year break build confidence, self-esteem, maturity, and qualities while it’s providing invaluable memories and facilitate to handle the course at the University.