Nowadays, people are spending increasingly large amounts of money on their marriage parties. Many people feel large and expensive weddings cause problems for the bride and groom. Do you agree? Use personal examples in your response

The act of celebrating the marital union between two matured individuals has existed for ages but recently people spend a huge amount of money on marriage ceremony and this has made some people opine that elaborate wedding parties can have a detrimental effect on couples. I agree with this opinion and more explanation on why I support the idea will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, extravagant spending on wedding parties make some couple go bankrupt after the ceremony because the majority of them go into debt when organising big parties. Bankruptcy at the beginning of a marriage is not good for both the bride and groom, the reason for this is that they will spend their early days or weeks trying to pay the debt instead of being together and understanding each other's personalities as well as likes and dislikes. For example, a friend of mine who got married two months ago had to resume work the next week after her wedding, instead of going on honey-moon with her husband, (a period which is necessary to create a strong bond of affection between them) because they collected loans to make their wedding ceremony the talk of the town. This is a disadvantage to the new couple. Furthermore, a wedding ceremony is only for a day while life after marriage spans many years till death, therefore,spending a significant amount of money which can be invested into other reasonable ventures capable of yielding significant benefits to the couple in the future could cause problems. For instance, organizing an expensive wedding ceremony and having no home to live in is a problem which can eventually lead to divorce because the couple will have to live with a family relation or friend who might not be hospitable, or they may be faced with third party interference in their marriage and this is a major challenge they might encounter, it has the ability to ruin the marriage. In conclusion, an expensive wedding ceremony is becoming a trend among young people today, although it is very attractive, it can cause problems for the couples because the majority will go into debt and spend their early married days trying to pay up while some will have no money to rent an apartment making them live with family relations or friends, this can be challenging and become a threat to the young marriage.