People are living much longer than before, and this creates enormous pressure on government services. What are some of the effects of a much larger, older population and what can governments do to deal with this problem?

In contemporary times, the lifespan of humanity has significantly increased. However, this essay argues that this phenomenon causes a heavier burden on government services, particularly in terms of environment and health Therefore, raising taxes may be an appropriate measure to alleviate this stress. One primary reason is that a larger population would lead to some environmental issues. These problems might make governments need to pay more attention to dealing with them, gradually accumulating more pressure. For instance, in Beijing, as their population is overcrowded, the local environment cannot endure this situation, ultimately resulting in various pollution, such as air, water, noise pollution and considerably exacerbating. Consequently, China’s government will face more economic challenges to solve the pollution. Another crucial reason is that the older population may cause more medical issues. Inevitably, with age growing, the elderly may face more diseases, especially cancer. For example, in many developed countries like Taiwan and Japan, the majority of diseases in the old group are cancer. To alleviate patients’ symptoms, governments must support a substantial number of medical resources to address it. In addition, the manpower of hospitals is another problem, which cannot suffer an excessive number of patients and usually overworking. Accordingly, both challenges are governments need to deal with, increasing their financial pressures. In order to solve these difficulties, raising adequate taxes may be an appropriate method, while it may cause individuals’ financial pressures to increase slightly. With more financial support, governments can solve these difficulties more flexibly, thereby making the public satisfied. A typical example is in West developed countries. In general, although their taxes are heavier than in Eastern countries, they establish more comprehensive measures to assist their public. For instance, their government give temporary accommodations for those who have some financial problems. Furthermore, they encourage volunteers to help the elderly or patients cultivate a more optimistic attitude to confront their life or diseases. As a result, raising taxes can effectively improve the pressures on governments, providing a positive cycle in society. In conclusion, current governments indeed face numerous difficulties such as environmental and medical aspects due to the longer lifespan. To alleviate these circumstances, increasing suitable taxes may be accessible.