The development of technology has resulted in more employees working from home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Presently, we now live in a world where technology thrives and switched the trend for many people from working physically to working from home. Many people have a hard time reaching a consensus on whether this new trend is a positive or negative development. To my mind, this is a positive development that leads to an increase in flexibility and productivity in employees’ lives. To commence with, there is no doubt that such claims have more pros than cons. According to me, the most obvious benefit of working from your own location is that it makes the lives of workers more convenient and easygoing. Besides, individuals do not have to go through the hassle of waking up at dawn to dress up and cover long distances to reach the office. For instance, during the global pandemic of COVID-19, the majority of organizations across the globe, especially Microsoft and Google, allowed some of their employees to continue to work remotely. Therefore, the role of technology proved to be more fundamental predominantly during the period of Coronavirus. Not only did this new work-from-home setting reduce operational costs of many companies but many labours claimed that this has brought too many conveniences to their lifestyles. Another advantage of digital advancement with respect to online jobs is that it has led to an increase in productivity amongst many people as they received ample time to improve their work efficiency in many ways. Moreover, the technologies, such as Zoom and WhatsApp, have made communications easier and more effective among the staff. For example, according to a recent survey by World Economic Forum, most of the subjects reported that the comfort of the remote work has provided them with the opportunity for critical thinking because of a lack of distraction from colleagues and supervisors. Consequently, they developed and pitched new ideas via multiple digital platforms to bring versatility to the company. Hence, the inventions pertaining to digital communications have played a vital role in modifying many business models of the industries. In conclusion, after a thorough analysis of the subject, although the idea of working remotely is negative to the extent that it leads to poor physical fitness and social isolation, in my overall opinion, this has also brought about too many merits for this to be considered a negative trend in general.