Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that the results have more positive impacts. The process of learning languages is different between children and adults. Children tend to learn a language faster dan easier than adults because they usually are happier than adults who already have many problems in their life. Subjects taught in primary school are usually easier and less than the ones in secondary school. Children can also learn a language in fun ways through games and videos which are usually used in the learning process in primary school. For example, my 6 years old niece is able to speak English fluently because she often watches English TV shows. Additionally, learning a language is a continuous learning process, therefore when they start learning a language earlier, they will be better at a language when they grow up. Despite the positives mentioned above, I believe that a foreign language taught in elementary school could have some negatives impact. Children who study in elementary school are still learning their primary language and this could cause confusion. As a result, the interest in learning a foreign language could become declined. Additionally, the foreign language they have learned would probably become meaningless in the future if their interest changes in the future. This would be an exception if English is the foreign language they learned because it is an international language. In conclusion, while I am able to identify the drawbacks of learning a foreign language earlier at school, I would agree with those who believe that it is a great idea to teach a foreign language at primary school.