In many countries, too much money was spent by government and individuals on national celebration such as New Year and religious festivals. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In many nations, administration and population consume a high expenditure on celebrating holidays and festivals. However, whether doing this can lead to benefits becomes a heated debate. For my part, although there might be arguments supporting that it is wasteful to spend money on celebrating these festivals, I tend to believe that this action can be more beneficial for us. On the one hand, I think the government and people should spend the amount of money on celebrating. Festivals have a vital connection with the cultural identity of the people who celebrate them. In this sense, if one festival in a country disappears due to the lack of attention, the distinctive ways of lifestyles that are associated with it will also go extinct. As such, we will lose the rich cultural diversity in this country. However, government spend money to hold some events and inhabitant's costs on celebrating festivals are ways which can raise people ’s awareness of cultural identity and cultural recognition. Meanwhile, not only do people feel a sense of happiness, but also multiculturalism in this society can be protected and promoted. On the other hand, it can be argued that celebrating these is a waste of money. The supporters of this view argue that with the development of technology, people can celebrate festivals in front of the screen on the internet. Thus, the government can save this money and the money can be used for the construction of the infrastructures, meanwhile, people can buy more useful things rather than celebrate. However, I think it will create a sad world, in which fewer and fewer people will take part in the celebration in the future. As a consequence, the next generation may forget the festivals and hard to find their own identity. To conclude, celebrating festivals is a meaningful as well as important behaviour. Although there are some downsides in the short term, there are actually more merits in the long term, which can lead to multiculturalism and prosperity of the society.