Countries should spend money on railways rather than roads. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people state that more money should be spent on railways rather than roads. Clearly, every civilized country would prefer to have a well-developed railway network, because it can be used for exportation and transportation. As far as I am concerned, if a country decided to strengthen its railway network, people would start using it more often than they used to do. This essay will discuss the economic importance of the development of railways. To begin with, regarding a country's economy, the government is constantly looking forward to finding options to improve it. Naturally, a country that has a well-developed railway network will obtain new opportunities for exportation. Conversely, it can be used for importation too. For instance, in Romania, due to the poor development of the railway network, the economy dramatically decreased. Unfortunately, it is one of the key factors that led Romania's economy to this point. On the other hand, when travelling by train you can not be stuck in congestion, still, if you travel by car this is highly likely to happen. Besides, students and children do not pay the full price when travelling by train. That's because the government wants to support people to choose an ecological and faster way of transportation. For instance, in the west of Europe, people do not use their vehicles at all. Moreover, they have this opportunity, because governments spent wisely the national budget in order to improve the public transportation system. In summary, countries should not neglect the railway network, because it has a great number of advantages. I consider that it is vital for them to invest in this sector in order to increase their economy.