Nowsday, a growing number of people with health problems are trying to alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

Alternative medicines have been extremely popular among patients for over a decade.Their treatments contain various ranges of drugs and procedures that are different from conventional medicines.In my opinion,I personally disagree with this alternative due to the reliability and validity of the regimens. To begin with, alternative medicines have low reliable evidence to endorse their efficiency. Firstly,there are few types of research that compare modern drugs to alternative treatments such as herbs and medicinal plants. Thus,the curative effect may be the result of the placebo effect,which is just emotional senses without sensible explanation. Secondly,it is hard to identify the valid substance that is the main effector to facilitate disease recovery. For example, taking some tree leaves is believed to cure the pain of chronic wounds; however,the original substances could not be identified. Thus,these fields of medicines need further research to standardize the regimens. In addition,some treatments in alternative medicines are traditional procedures that are difficult to measure the treatment outcomes. This means that the valid results are indirectly recorded. For example,some pleasant feelings are developed after Acupuncture,relieving the stress and strain from muscle fatigue.Due to the unknown mechanism of this phenomenon,it is difficult to implement this procedure for everyone who has similar symptoms. Moreover,some procedures may be harmful to current treatment.Many patients seek alternative choices without taking the standard medicines. As a result,the diseases turn to severe stages which result in a high morbidity and mortality rate. Consequently,the validity of such remedies is needed to be proven by detailed investigations. In conclusion,various options in medical treatments have bloomed over a period,so people have more chances to choose. However,standard medicines should be prioritized over alternative medicine because of much more research and scientific explanation of the treatment mechanism.