Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be required to help with household tasks as soon as they are able to do so. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has been a controversy about whether children should help to do some household tasks. I think doing housework is advantageous to children's growth, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, doing housework can let children become more independent. It's commonplace that parents tend to do all the things for their children. However, they don't know that their children can be adversely affected by their behaviour. Kids will become more dependent and rely on their parents. On the contrary, if parents can let kids do some housework, such as cleaning dishes and clothing their own closes, these household tasks can help children become more self-reliant and independent. Besides, kids feel proud as well, because they can help other members of the family. Second, doing housework is a great opportunity to practice children's teamwork skills. A family is actually a small team, each member is his/her own work. Therefore, if parents can let their children do some housework regularly, kids can learn how to work with others in a team and eventually learn to take responsibility. It's worth mentioning that such experience can be very useful in the future, it can be used on some occasions, such as in the office or at school. Third, the relationship between parents and kids can be intensified. According to my own experience, I hadn't known doing housework could be painstaking before I helped my parents doing some tasks, like cleaning dishes. After I helped them, I learned to cherish their contribution to our family. Thus, it can be said that kids can realize the difficulty of doing housework when they really do it. Besides, children will learn to show more respect to their parents, and the relationship between parents and children is bound to be strengthened. In conclusion, kids can learn a lot of things from doing housework.