Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

With the recent trend of the use of other types of medication, there are concerns about their ineffectiveness and harmful contents. I agree completely with this school of thought. The reason is mostly that these options are natively produced and most times do not have dosage advice. These alternative forms of prescription are largely ineffective. For example, in my hometown, native herbs are cooked together for the treatment of malaria, pile and skin infections. Most people who opt for these options do so out of ignorance, cultural beliefs and the mindset that they are more effective than approved medicine. However, in reality, the same persons patronize the herb sellers for the treatment of the same illnesses as they realise that they still do not feel better. Hence, the ineffectiveness of these options. Despite their non-productivity, they are in addition harmful to one's health. Firstly, they are prepared in an unclean environment with a lot of human interferences, as a result, the chances of contamination of the herbal mix are high. Additionally, there is usually no defined measurement in the consumption of such. For instance, a customer who complains of malaria will be sold the same mixture and quantity as another who requests to treat high fever. As a result, it is sometimes referred to as "one medicine that cures all illnesses". I completely agree that other types of medicine are not only ineffective but as well as unsafe for human consumption, thus, should not be encouraged. People should be sensitized to the negative effects of consuming them while healthy and approved medication should be made affordable to all. In conclusion, the new trend toward patronizing other forms of medication should be discouraged. The people should be continuously sensitized to their ineffectiveness which consequently leads to a waste of money and also the danger it poses to their health as it could worsen the health concerns or even create new ones.