Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As compared to past generations, children now are physically inactive in their leisure time. While I agree that sporting events are vital in a child’s all-around educational development, I would argue that such schemes should be optional instead of mandatory. To start with the benefits of physical activities, one can get a healthy body and mind. Take the case of a schoolboy who participates in one sport in the schoolhouse can get rid of the potential risks of diseases such as diabetes, obesity or more dangerously heart attack. By this, I mean that a child can build physical strength and stamina by relieving stress and putting down the burdens of studying in the classroom context. I also remember taking part in physical education every other day in an educational institution was really pleasurable and helped me to concentrate in the classroom context. Whereas sporting hours are vital for school-age children, I do not believe that such educational programs must be mandatory. Making these programs compulsory in schools may result in unfair decisions and bad behaviours could emerge in a group of pupils who have no interest. The reason behind that is not every child is physically appropriate to carry on sport. Only suitable and willing students can take part by having the optional stream of playful activities. In conclusion, physical exercises might offer a range of benefits to children including all-embracing educational progress, I do have a firm belief that such activities should elective part of the curriculum instead of obligatory.