Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Today, technical developments play an inevitable role in our life in that we rely on automation for our routine actions; from negligible deeds to the most important ones. In the following, I am going to elucidate the effect of this matter on our daily relationships and its good and bad impacts. To begin with, technology affects human communications in many ways; for example, in family relationships, romantic ones between couples, work relations and so forth. As a proof, there is no need to be present at a certain time in the work environment in every field nowadays, in that an individual can telework with a laptop from home easily when he/she lies down on the sofa. Therefore, it can change people’s relationships greatly in various fields; from personal ones to labour relations. Regarding positive and negative impacts of technical developments, in my opinion, it has both. To incite an example, on the one hand, family members had to get together physically in order to visit each other in the past; however, nowadays, they can readily call or video call each other at the same time from disparate regions in the world, and this is one of the many affirmative impressions of machinery development. On the other hand, research that has been done recently showed that higher levels of technology used adds up to significantly less time spent together as a couple, less satisfaction and connection and higher levels of depression in partners. So, like a double edge sword, the flourishing of such advanced technologies can be both helpful and ruinous. In conclusion, concerning the types of communicating manners which are affected by technical progress its merits and drawbacks, it was said that it can impress a variety kinds of relations, both in a good way and bad one.