Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

There is a tremendously controversial perspective over the fact that society will not function properly providing people can do anything freely without legislation as well as set of rules. In my opinion, i consider myself an advocate of this statement. Without a shadow of a doubt, letting citizens do anything without limitation may bring some positive influence to society. One of them is that residents will be able to show their true potential. Nowadays, many nations put forward a rule regarding the age restriction in abundant sport events, which may act as a barrier to someone who is passionate about the events. If people are allowed to participate freely, they will be able to develop in a professional environment. For instance, in Thailand, they allowed an adolescent who was at the age of 15 to take part in SEA games 31 as a professional player in an esport expert sports team. In the end, they obtained a gold medal based on his excellent performance. In my opinion, it is undeniable that letting people do what they want freely has some favourable impact on residents' lives. Although the redeeming features allowing people to be free to do whatever they want are widely acknowledged, its counterpart still lingers and can not be overshadowed. Given the fact that some vocations have a harsh working environment or require a specific set of skills, laws and rules are set in order to prevent any dire problem caused by the inexperienced. For instance, if someone who has no experience in driving becomes a bus driver, he may put every passenger’s life in danger. Thus, it is essential that norms and laws are enforced to prevent this. In conclusion, although letting residents do anything without laws and rules has some beneficial influence, I would agree with this mentioned statement that society will not function but for norms and discipline.