Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

There is a tremendously controversial statement heating up a debate over the fact that society cannot function properly without legislations. While there are still some situations when laws can bring undesirable impacts on the well-being of the city dwellers as well as the whole nation,I still consider myself an advocate of this perspective. It is evident that rules and legitimate regulations can sometimes bring detrimental impacts on the welfare of law-abiding inhabitants, and even resulting in chaos and riots in society. For instance, in the US, it is legislative for their citizens to have their right to trade and possess guns or weapons without strict restrictions. This stem from the reason that law- enforcement officers in their country are fully armed with rifles as an important protection while dealing with criminals. However, this legislation may do more harm than good due to the fact that during the recent decades, the USA has experienced an eclectic mix of mass shooting in public area such as music concerts, schools and even the train station, leading to a numerous loss of innocent lives. Therefore, there are occasions that laws can post a threat to people's lives. While the aforementioned justifications are widely-acknowledged, the community cannot be safe and stable without laws and rules. As the delinquents are not prevented by the governors and people have the right to do whatever they want. This will contribute to the increasing number of criminals behaviours such as thief, robbery. For example, since the community are not controlled by the authorities anymore, there will be a lot of people breaking into big stores to steal valuable products such as digital devices from Apple or Samsung, and well-made clothes. Hence, the nation cannot be functional without rules and laws. In conclusion, while there are several roots to claim that laws sometimes cannot facilitate the well-being of inhabitants, I am well-convinced that the legislation still plays a paramount significance role in keeping the community safe and functional.