Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over whether principles and regulations are major factors operating the society. Since this thinking is valid to some extent, I would contend myself as an advocate of it. Without a shadow of a doubt, there is a wealth of tremendous benefits that settling in a disciplined society can bring to inhabitants. A nation with citizens that obey laws will reduce a considerable number of criminals and dangerous perpetrators which bring people’s lives to the verge of being cut short. For instance, if individuals are not punished for their bad actions such as bullying and stealing things, they will not be able to recognize their harmful behaviors and have a tendency to commit more crimes. Hence, there can be a wealth of severe consequences if people do not comply with principles. On the other hand, while the redeeming features of dwelling in a country which has strict laws and norms are widely acknowledged, some trivial drawbacks of it still linger. In conclusion, even though there are still several negative impacts on citizens living in nations with harsh rules and regulations, the advantages it brings to them are far more apparent and should not be ignored.