Recent advances in medical science have resulted in increased life expectancy over the past few years. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological advancements in medical science have recently increased drastically. These current advancements in the field of medicine have undoubtedly stretched the life span of an individual over the past decade. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages before reaching a conclusion. Various innovative surgeries and therapies have managed to save lots of lives from deadly diseases. Consequently, this has not only allowed them to stay longer with their families but also instill social values in them,especially the young ones. To corroborate further, a recent survey shows that the kids staying in touch with octogenarians are more disciplined and cultured. Additionally, they play a significant role in a household where there are working parents. In this fast pace workaholic world it becomes daunting for parents to arrange a babysitter for their child and so it would be really helpful for them to have their mother or father to look up to their children. On the other hand, the increased population of these old age groups may pose certain problems. Firstly, it would increase the financial load on the government as more amount of money would be required for funding the pension scheme. Sometimes such circumstances may force the authorities to shut down schemes altogether. For instance, In India, there is no provision for supplying daily needs to the old people. Secondly, the costly living conditions will also create issues as usually children may feel some discomfort taking care of their old man for too long. All in all, despite the demerit relating to the financial issues, I believe that the merits of having an older person cannot be neglected.