Recent advances in medical science have resulted in increased life expectancy over the past few years. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a controversy about the influence of increased life expectancy on our society. I think it has advantages and disadvantages, but its merits outweigh its demerits. My reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, an increased life expectancy can propel the development of human civilization. For instance, if a person's life is 60 years, then the first 16 years and the last 10 years of his / her life can't be used for developing society. For the rest of 34 years, deducting the 8 years for cultivating the next generations, the valid working hours are only 26 years. On the contrary, should the life can be expanded, then there will be more working hours. As a result, our society can be better improved. Take human science as an example. If a scientist has discovered 80% of a theory, then due to his / her limited life, he / she passed away. The evidence and knowledge that the scientist left are unteachable; therefore, later generations can't continue their work. As a consequence, all the efforts can end up in vain. At this point, if the scientist's life can be increased, he / she can make a huge contribution to our civilization. Second, your life can be realized to the largest extent. For instance, the first 16 years and last 10 years are used for schools and hospitals, and the rest time of your life is spent on your children and job. Therefore, you don't really have time for yourself. At this point, should the life expectancy can be increased, you can spend this time doing something meaningful, such as travelling or even just doing nothing. On the other hand, an expanded life expectancy has some drawbacks. For example, it will lead to an ageing population. On account of our advanced medical conditions, everyone can live longer now. Nevertheless, as a consequence, there will be more aged people, and those people can worsen the country's financial issues because the government needs to pay them a large number of pensions annually. In conclusion, the merits of a prolonged life expectancy outweigh the demerits.