In some countries it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow vegetarian diets. Do the advantages of this outweighs the disadvantages.

Eating vegetables is becoming increasingly common in some countries. I think it's a good signal and I believe its merits outweigh its demerits. My reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. Following a vegetarian diet can lessen global warming. According to some statistical figures, meat factories produce a large amount of carbon emission annually, and that emission will eventually contribute to climate change and worsen global warming. Therefore, should people could start eating vegetables, global meat consumption would be reduced. As a result, the situation of global warming can be improved. Second, it's more healthy for our bodies. Some surveys point out that many cancers are intertwined with your eating habits. For example, colorectal cancer is closely linked with eating meat; the more meat you eat, the more chances you get colorectal cancer. Hence, were you to eat less meat, the chances of getting cancer can be reduced. Besides, it's commonplace that people suffer from bad breath nowadays, and one of the main causes of it is eating excessive meat. On the other hand, following a vegetarian diet has some drawbacks as well. First, it can contribute to a lack of protein intake. The essential ingredients that our bodies require are mainly from meat. Thus, were you to eat insufficient food for quite a long time, it could bring some negative impacts, like indigestion. Second, it can bring about some health problems. For instance, it is common that a person with a vegetarian diet will look older than a person with a normal diet. The reason behind it is that meat contains rich fat, and that fat can protect our skins. Thus, without the protection of fat, our skins will suffer from some issues, like inflammation. In conclusion, the merits of eating vegetables outstrip its demerits.