Many people support use of animals for testing medicines for humans. Others believe it isn’t appropriate to use animals for such experiments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Advances in medicine have been occurring at some of the fastest rates in human history. These advances are often attributed to clinical trials, which often occur at the expense of small mammals such as mice. Many are of the opinion that it is unethical to conduct such experiments, while others believe that this method of discovery is not only acceptable, but a requirement. Although both views have valid points, I believe that using animals initially may provide better treatment options for humans in the future. To begin with, it is understandable why some may argue that drug testing on small rodents is a poor method of discourse. Firstly, drug testing comes with all forms of side effects that range from mild discomfort to death. By using drugs on these living creatures we are willingly exposing them to potential harm. Although this may seem brutal, it is my understanding that the utmost care is taken to reduce all suffering when tests are being conducted. For example, frogs are often given anaesthetics during exams. This reduces much of the pain they may experience. On the other hand, the benefits that we may gain from such methods are too great to quantify. Animals provide an alternative to testing on humans and this can open the door to cures for all types of diseases. By initially using mammals we can understand more about how potential therapies work before using them on ourselves. For example, instead of exposing individuals to a potentially new cancer therapy which will cure cancer but may lead to heart failure. We can use mice before, which will provide essential knowledge and save human life. To conclude, both views provide valid arguments. On one,hand small creatures have feelings and emotions, while contrastingly using them may provide new and life-saving therapies. I believe that this is an essential evil.