In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children are convinced they can manifest anything they crave if they invest abundant action in various cultures worldwide. Although this measure creates numerous resilient and mentally strong individuals for society, it ends up backfiring on some groups of people. In this essay, the upper side and downside of such a mindset will be discussed. To begin with, optimistic psychological implementation is of great significance for personal development. For example, gymnastic athlete Simon confronted her mental block after she failed in the Tokyo Olympic Games by taking actions mentally and physically. During the whole process, all she ever did was train harder and believe in herself. Moreover, it is the law of nature to achieve anything with consistency. The attraction law also proved that our energy frequency matches the identical level of achievements, as a result, anyone can gain exactly as they wish if puts enough belief to drive actions. It highlights the importance of self-belief, illustrating the self-serving role of a positive mentality. However, as much as a resilient mind could enable us to the positive path of success, it could generate adverse effects. There is a fine line between stamina and abuse. Excessive practice is detrimental to health, causing burnout since it makes people only concentrate on actions instead of reflection. For instance, body injury of athletes due to over-training and mental issues of students caused by brain overuse. Consequently, some might develop anxiety or depression disorders due to excessive workload. In conclusion, even though holding a strong belief could inject momentum to make us thrive and evolve, the belief itself must be paired with some extent of self-reflection to strike a balance. It is more of a two-sided catalyst to motivate us, and we must stay conscious.