Some people say that advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it has negative social effects because it will make people feel dissatisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Recently, the debate on whether advertising can benefit the public or not has been hearted. While some people argue that advertising can boost the economy, others claim that it may bring undesirable social effects. As far as I am concerned, advertising may bring more positive effects to the general public. In this essay, I will outline both sides and elaborate on my view. To begin with, it is widely believed that advertising encourages more purchasing. As advertisements allow sellers to outline the specialist of their products, people may be attracted by their functions and have a trial of the new products. For example, a large number of people are buying Apple watch after they saw the advertisement. Therefore, the economy may be raised owing to the increasing amount of purchasing. On the other hand, advertising may result in a sense of dissatisfaction. As firms need to publish different products to keep innovation, it may be difficult for consumers to purchase all the latest products. For instance, brands may publish new bags seasonally in order to compete with each other. Therefore, if people see the advertisement of new products, they may be dissatisfied with their own goods and consider others are better. In conclusion, although some people may be dissatisfied with what they have once they think the new products are better than theirs, it is undeniable that advertising can attract more consumer attention as well as ensure purchasing. In this way, there are more we should admire than blame on advertising as it brings more positive effects to society.