In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your argument with examples and relevant evidence.

Lately, more students are opting to study abroad than at home because of easier opportunities. Although there are numerous benefits to this trend, there are some drawbacks too. This essay will examine them in detail with supporting evidence. To begin with, one of the main advantages of this development is receiving a better quality of education. For example, academic institutions in the UK, US and Canada are globally renowned; therefore, students from developing countries prefer to gain a higher level of education from these establishments. Another advantage is that students can study their choice of specialisation if their home country does not offer any. In my case, I specialised in International Law at a reputed institution in Switzerland because none of the universities at home offered this course. Nevertheless, there are numerous shortcomings of this trend too. First, the primary disadvantage is the cost. Foreign education is extremely expensive and not always supported by funding. To illustrate, a postgraduate degree at Harvard University can cost more than $80,000 for international students. As a result, some people can be financially burdened after graduation. Second, smart international students struggling with foreign style of teaching is another disadvantage. I experienced this during my course in Switzerland when I realised that I had to adapt to new schedules while my European classmates had already adapted. Hence, pupils face more stress and competition abroad. In conclusion, there are a fair share of positives and negatives for the latest development of studying away from home. The positives include the opportunity to gain a better quality of education alongside any specialisation, however, they are also costly to do and can be very stressful for international candidates.