Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a “gap year”; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to a broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays a lot of students take a gap year after graduating high school. But some students go to university or college straight away. People usually sided with this argument. This essay will discuss both sides. To pass over a year before enroll college is helpful for young people. Because in that year they can actually think about their future and search for their true self and purpose. Moreover, youths can travel all around the world and gain knowledge of the real world. Also, young people can get a job for a year such as a waiter, cashier and even more. This helps their work experience and it is helpful for their opinions on what they really want to do or who they want to be in the future. They can even sign up for courses or clubs for their hobbies. However, this argument has a few disadvantages too such as it is waste of time and money. Students taking a gap year is somehow bad for them. Because they lost one or two years for doing nothing. That means in the future their length of study becomes longer and longer. Furthermore, they could feel left behind and bad for themselves. For instance, your friends are graduating and pursuing their life goals but you still stand at the same levels. This can cause some mental issues. Besides, if you took a gap year, you would spend a lot of money. Since you did not study or work, so you do not have salaries or other money resources. In conclusion, I believe young people should take a gap year to find themselves and real goals. After graduate high school and enrolling in university right away may be harmful to the future. For example, you studied for 3 years in medical school but you do not want to be a doctor or nurse. You want to be an artist or an engineer. In that time you have already lost 3 years of your life. But if you take a gap year, you would lose only 1 year of your life.