It’s becoming more and more popular to have a year off between graduating from school and entering university. Point out the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Nowadays, a period of 12 months is preferred between school graduation and higher studies admission by several students. Firstly, this essay will discuss the advantages of the gap taken, which enables students to make the right decisions, and secondly, the disadvantages of losing this valuable period. Firstly, discussing the advantages, due to the introduction of various technologies in the curriculum, there has been a substantial increase in the variety of graduate programmes in universities. As a result, many students are taking their time to identify their strengths and then choosing suitable courses. Moreover, universities are conducting a number of examinations to select the eligible students. For example, in India, there are a multitude of examinations such as the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) hosted by the Central Board of Secondary Education, EAMCET by the corresponding State Boards and many more. As a result, the students who prefer the long term can get a second opportunity to prepare for these exams and join their dream university. Even though there are numerous advantages to this decision, there are some disadvantages. Students lose valuable time every year when they fail to make the right decisions. Even though they are taking additional time to prepare for these extremely competitive exams, many students are failing to crack these even on their second attempt. Consequently, again, this 12-month duration is wasted. In conclusion, although there is a privilege of having a chance to take this gap, parents should guide students in making righteous decisions as time is a very valuable asset.