Task 2: Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Across the globe, the quest for survival has been a well-acceptable characteristic amongst individuals in any part of the world. The majority of the people welcomed this aspect of human life while others kick against it. In my opinion, I feel that this is a remarkable occurrence. To begin, there are different Means we adapt to our environment in other to survive and one of these processes is the ability to compete with others. Competition has a positive outcome in that it enables individuals to work harder in other to fit in the society. This is because there are higher expectations placed on every individual in their respective areas of life and this brings about demand. In addition, competitiveness increases our creative minds and as well helps to improve innovation. For example, a study in 2018 among Ghanaians reveals that the majority of the citizens reported having incorporated additional skills and talents as a result of the need to enhance their handwork. These contributed effectively to the growth and development of their nation. Thus, there is a need to increased competition. On the other hand, people opined that the high demand for survival is a leading cause of mental illness in various societies. They believe that individuals who are not progressing as expected come down with depression. For instance, a report has shown that over thirty per cent of mental ailments are due to an individual's struggle for survival. Therefore, competitiveness should be curtailed. In conclusion, despite the side effects of competition on individuals, I am of the view that it maintains an important aspect of human life as the society and nation at large benefit enormously from it.