In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read ebooks rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, increasing number of people prefer to study using electronic books rather than printed ones. Ebooks provides features that makes reading enjoyable in addition to its portability and accessibility but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. Despite the disadvantages below, reading with softcopy provides lots of benefits. Firstly, it possesses features that interest the reader such as e-reader which helps in the pronunciation of difficult words or even reading aloud the entire text and also various fonts and sizes are available to suite individual preferences. Secondly, it is a portable way to carry lots of books as it reduces the amount of effort needed to take them around. For instance, in Nigeria most students complain of shoulder pain as a result of too much books carried daily to school. Thirdly, books can be easily shared to friends and acquaintances if it comes in softcopy without fear of losing the original copy. Admittedly, there are some disadvantages involved in the usage of ebooks. One problem is that it impairs vision when used endlessly which is attributed to the continuous reflection of rays into the retina from mobile devices or personal computers. A research carried out in southern Nigeria for example revealed that most undergraduates become shortsighted due to prolong studying with this type of books. Another obvious issue, is that jotting of points is impossible with softcopy. Note taking is an important aspect of studying as it improves retention and concentration however, it cannot be employed when utilizing electronic books. In conclusion, even though the use of ebook can lead to visual problems and prevent the taking down of notes, it's positive aspects outweighs any of its drawbacks.