(22/10/2016) Some people believe that people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the belief that university education should be made free for everyone despite their financial status. While this idea may be beneficial, I partly disagree with such a point of view. In this essay, I will delve deep into both sides of the argument and give out my logical conclusion. On the one hand, there is a school of thought agreeing that university fees should be funded by the government because university education is vital for everybody, as it provides them with knowledge and skills needed for their future career. Additionally, many companies are more likely to hire people with university degrees rather than those who do not have degrees. Therefore, people could have more opportunities to get a well-paid job and constant income if they study at university and acquire a tertiary degree. However, if government wholly funds university fees, there would be an enormous strain on government budgets as well as the finance of society. On the other hand, the government should be under no obligation to finance students with their university costs because providing free tertiary education might make government and society bear a financial burden. As a matter of fact, there is social welfare that requires annual government expenditures to maintain such as health care and transportation. Funding free higher education for everyone would mean more money has to be spent by the government. This either pushes the government to the verge of bankruptcy or levies higher taxes on citizens. In conclusion, although free university costs may be beneficial to some extent, I partly disagree with such a point of view and believe that people should pay their university fees.