It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is controversial whether governments should only help their countries’ citizens or they should also pay attention to people from other countries. While some people support this point of view, I partly disagree with it. In this essay, I will delve deep into both sides of the argument and give out my logical conclusion. On the one hand, the world’s leaders’ hesitation over the provision of international aid to undeveloped regions is legitimate because governments’ priority is to take care of their own inhabitants. Additionally, government budgets are finite. Therefore, there could be a strain on national budgets and less money to spend on social welfare such as health care or the environment if governors agree to help foreign people. On the other hand, officials should help as many societies as they can regardless of the notion of helping all people on the planet. Rich countries should assist struggling ones in their vital humanitarian sectors such as health, nutrition and education. Nations, for instance, that include the domestic threat of famine or contagions due to war and terrorism such as Yemen should be assisted by rich communities. This humanitarian cause of assistance will have a considerable psychological impact on residents of prosperous places as well as the poor. This appears as they deter any sense of alienation, fragmentation, or loss in favour of the enjoyment of charity and belonging to the world public. Therefore, helping others overseas not only helps the poor to live respectfully but also promotes the idea of self-devotion and belonging to achieve a better world among the rich public. In conclusion, although governors choosing to pay attention to their own inhabitants may be advantageous to some extent, I would argue that world leaders should lend their struggling neighbours a hand to offer help to people in need.