New technology has changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

With the advancement of novel technology, more and more pupils take their pastime on playing video games and computers rather than other activities. Personally, I disagree with this phenomenon. This essay will discuss both sides and provide compelling reasons to sustain my opinion. There is no doubt that revolutionary technology can offer students a new way to reach out to the world and communicate with their friends and family members worldwide. It is convenient to keep in touch with their social network through social media and the Internet. Especially during the pandemic, connecting with their friends through technology stays social distances and safe. However, addiction to virtual friendships on the air may not only waste children’s leisure time but also let them lose social capabilities in the reality. Thus, even if technology provides a feasible method to remain the children’s friends, they may spend too much time online and lose chances to get along with their friends physically. Moreover, the adverse effects of innovative technology are detrimental to children’s physical health. For example, keeping eye on the screen for playing games and watching the iPad will ruin and decrease kids’ eyesight. Meanwhile, pupils miss opportunities to do outdoor activities and approach nature. According to recent studies, the more children play in the wild field, the happier and healthier they are. It is because they can watch green vegetation and do physical exercises instead of staying sedentary in front of the television and computer screen. Therefore, spending too much leisure time on technology is a negative trend for the young generation. In conclusion, although the new technology can keep children’s friendships, I believe that the upside is outweighed by the downsides that cause considerable problems affecting children’s social skills in the real world and being harmful to their physical well-being.