Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums?

These days, a lot of museums and historical sites seem to appeal mainly to tourists, rather than locals. This essay attempts to shed light on the underlying factors behind this negative tendency before outlining several viable solutions that could be adopted to tackle this worrying problem. There is a host of reasons why local dwellers refuse to pay a visit to museums and historical sites. The first reason is that because these places provide an overview of local traditions and history, they often attract tourists who are curious about foreign cultures more than locals. Therefore, these places would not have local inhabitants. Moreover, in some regions where the living standard and social welfare are low, residents, especially the underprivileged, may not be able to spend money on such activity. For instance, in Dien Bien, a province in the northwest region of Vietnam, it is rather hard for residents to make ends meet, let alone spend money on expensive entrance tickets to historical attractions. To combat this serious concern, it is crucial for the governmental bodies to take the following feasible steps. Firstly, they should allocate government funding for the refurbishment of museums and historic relics. As a result, this could make them more attractive and appealing, which could not only draw the attention of local visitors but also significantly increase the number of tourists from other places. Secondly, state officials should make it free for local inhabitants to explore museums and historical places. Without worrying about additional expenditures, they, especially those who are financially disadvantaged, would be entitled to immerse themselves in these sites, broadening their horizons about the traditional customs and indigenous practices of their own hometown. In conclusion, attracting local people to visit museums and historical sites in their area may be a difficult process, however, there are a number of ways that locals could be encouraged to do so.