Children today spend a lot of time on playing games and they spend little time on sports. What are the reasons and what should be done to tackle the problem?

Nowadays, most children prefer to play video games rather than indulge in outdoor sports activities. There are various reasons for this occurrence and they will be explained further in the below paragraphs along with their solutions. Children today are very much fond of online games. This is due to the easy access to digital gadgets. For instance, everyone owns a mobile phone that harbours a plethora of games on it and so constant contact with these devices can make kids addicted to them. As a result, most of their time is spent in such activity and so a little time is devoted to physical activities like playing cricket or football. Additionally, this digitization also makes youngsters isolated, consequently decreasing their self-confidence and thus refrains them to participate in group activities like sports. This particular circumstance, however, difficult can be dealt with efficiently. Firstly, a check on the screen time of a child is mandatory. The parents are responsible to keep an eye on their young ones to control the amount of time that they waste on these websites. Secondly, students should be encouraged to take up sports in school. They can also be motivated if the educational institutes can arrange various sports events and felicitate them with rewards. For example, our school would conduct a basketball championship across the different districts and the winning team was awarded a scholarship. In conclusion, owing to the major involvement of technology in our lives, its detrimental impacts like deteriorating physical health and mundane attitudes in children cannot be neglected completed. Therefore, in my opinion, keeping a check on their daily involvement and developing their interests in sports might mitigate this issue.