More and more people no longer read newspaper. They get news about the world through the Internet. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

As society is advancing leaps and bounds, the attitude people adopt toward the prevalence of the Internet has undergone a noticeable and far-reaching transformation. Under this circumstance, it can hardly be reached an absolute consensus as to whether people increasing number acquire information sources from the Internet instead of the print newspaper is a blessing or a curse. For my part, I side with the proponents for the following sound reasons. Firstly, it is noteworthy that this growing tendency has helped Internet users broaden their horizons. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that albeit visibly, cyberspace has gradually eradicated the monopoly of governments over the media industry in general and the press industry in particular, thereby practising the freedom of press and speech to a larger scale. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that thanks to the popularity of information sources on the Internet, modern citizens are able to keep themselves well-updated on the latest trends and newest events without governments’ censorship. A good case in this point is Thailand, whose absolute monarchy and autocracy have silently been eliminated because the young generation has more opportunities to access radical information sources in cyberspace. This example is an illustration of the fact that this phenomenon has positively contributed to the betterment of public awareness. Secondly, the counterargument raised by objectors is that the liberty in cyberspace has been abused to spread rumours, exaggerate facts as well as distort information and fabricate news, resulting in deceptions misleading those who do not have a clear distinction between personal judgements and objective and constructive criticisms. This argument is true to some degree, though incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that the development of the Internet is the solution to problems by itself. For example, it is common that celebrities and key opinion leaders are paid to advertise products under the facade of personal experience; nevertheless, the efficacy of this strategy has decreased when Internet users become more knowledgeable. In conclusion, I am convinced that this development possesses more benefits than drawbacks for the aforementioned reasons.