The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.

Nuclear power has been used for electricity generation since the 50s, and it nowadays provides roughly 10% of world electricity from several reactors across the globe. However, its use remains highly controversial. Supporters of nuclear power point out some advantages. First, it is a free carbon source. Therefore, it releases a lower proportion of greenhouse gases compared to other traditional sources of energy - such as coal, gas, and oil. Second, it is a reliable source of energy. While some energy sources are dependent on weather conditions, like solar and wind power, nuclear energy does not have such constraints. For instance, nuclear plants work 24 hours/day, seven days per week, and it does not matter if the windy doesn’t blow or the day is cloudy. While the arguments above are valid, I do not believe that they outweigh the disadvantages of the use of nuclear power. Although nuclear power plants release zero carbon emissions, it substantially impacts the environment, mainly through mining and water discharge. Mining of any kind negatively impacts the surrounding area. Mining of Uranium (used to produce nuclear energy) is particularly worst since it releases toxic gases into the environment. Furthermore, a considerable amount of water is necessary to cool the reactors and it is usually released back into the ocean and lakes. This heated water jeopardizes most aquatic life. Moreover, the risk of accidents in nuclear power is not trivial. Humanity has witnessed three major accidents in nuclear plants, in Ukraine, the United States and more recently, Japan. The first one, in Chornobyl, not only did kill thousands of people but also millions of people still struggle with long-term health problems- 36 years later after the accident. In a nutshell, the use of nuclear power can be extremally dangerous to our planet and directly jeopardize our health. Currently, there are cleaner and safer sources of energy that could be expanded, such as hydro, solar, and windy power.