It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often said that taking risks is an integral part of striving for success. In my opinion, the benefits of taking calculated risks are far greater than any potential drawbacks. On one hand, it is true that mild success, whether professional or personal, may not always involve the need for risking to begin with. Many are people whose career growth was a smooth transition from high school to university and from higher education straight to employment. Their salaries steadily increase in unison with work experience and hard work, often leading to permanent financial stability. In contrast, there are some individuals who want to accelerate this process by staking huge amounts of money into risky transactions. This pursuit of quick income can even push them into reckless spending, especially on products designed to rob people of their earnings such as gambling. As a result, these ‘risk-takers’ can ruin their relationships with friends and family, in addition to running into bankruptcy. However, when the necessary precautions are taken, taking risks can remarkably improve our lives in a short period of time. This is especially true for occupations such as entrepreneurship, where the possibility of losing money is always present, regardless of one’s willingness to play safe. In fact, it seems to me that the biggest returns on investment can only be made when the chances of success are low. The same could be said with regards to achieving personal happiness in life. There is no way to tell if the other person likes you unless an effort is made to find that out. People who are too scared to take the first step often end up missing their chances altogether, whereas someone who was brave enough to take the risk enjoys the reward of their endeavors for the rest of their lives. In conclusion, I firmly believe that risk taking is more advantageous than harmful, but it should only be done after careful considerations.