A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employee works from home, using a computer and the Internet to connect with the office. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way?

In the modern world, technology has made working life become much easier and people can work anywhere they wish. The number of people working at home through the use of technology such as computers and the internet is increasing. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this method of work. The advancement of telecommuting has brought positive outcomes to the work fields. People can now work effectively regardless of where they are, including in their own homes. It can reduce the stress of long hours of commuting and direct that energy solely to focus and execute assigned work instead. For instance, during the pandemic of Covid-19, most employees are required to work from home. As it turns out, companies and businesses still thrive even through this shift in working patterns. Therefore, telecommuting can reduce the employee's stress and burden and yet reinforce the quality of their work performance. As there are two sides to every coin, telecommuting can also lead to negative impacts on staff. Face-to-face human interaction is significantly removed and that can affect their mental, emotional, and psychological health. Due to the lack of actual interaction, it can make the employees feel lost and unable to overcome challenges from work which can lead to stress. For instance, it is reported that the number of people diagnosed with depression increased dramatically during the time of the pandemic. Hence, telecommuting can cause harm in intangible ways. In conclusion, people begin to increasingly adopt telecommuting as a new method to conduct work. Regardless of its drawbacks, I genuinely believe this way of work does more good than harm. Ultimately, this change can benefit the company as well as the employees as work now has no boundary.