Some families think the best way to take care of their aging parents is to care for them at home. Others believe that it is better for their parents to live in a special home for the elderly. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

As the number of elderly increased tremendously in the past, it has become controversial how they need to be taken care of. Some people believe it is their responsibility to take care of their elderly at home; whereas, others claim they should be living in a special home. This essay will discuss both opinions as well as my own. From many perspectives, having their ageing parents living in a special home seems to be the best solution. While people are out working and juggling their personal lives, they might neglect their elderly as they do not have time. Having the elderly in home care would allow them to focus on their lives. For instance, many people have sent their parents to private nursing homes in which they know their parents will be in good hands. Facilities and services provided at the nursing home can also make their parents feel less lonely. Thus, people can have a bit of room to breathe. On the other hand, others believe their ageing parents should be taken care of at home which I strongly agree with this. The bonds between parents and children are indestructible which means they cannot be at ease knowing that their parents are not with them. For example, people might not be able to give the best care to their elderly at all times but being able to see their parents every day can motivate them to do better. In addition, personally, I do take care of my grandmother at home. Being able to see her every day inspires me to work hard and I can take better care of her in the future. In conclusion, families may have different solutions on how to take responsibility for their elderly. Some may want to take care of them by themselves, others may want to use services that are available. In my opinion, I believe we should be responsible for them.