Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a second language is essential for academic and professional purposes. Historically, foreign languages have been taught in secondary school. However, some specialists advocate that it would be more beneficial if children learned them from an earlier age. Some schools have already adopted this policy, which has positive and negative aspects. Opponents of this policy argue that young children are already exposed to a considerable number of traditional courses such as science, math, history etc. By adding more classes at a young age, children would have limited time to participate in other activities, such as arts or sports, essential for healthy development. Furthermore, primary school teachers are usually generalists, and if they did not have the necessary skills themselves, schools would need to hire specialists. This could be expensive and only schools with a more generous budget would be able to implement this policy. Although the above arguments are valid, I do not believe they outweigh the advantages. The obvious argument in its favour is that young children pick up language much easier than adolescents. Not only are their brains still being shaped and programmed to learn their mother tongue, but they are also not inhibited by self-consciousness. Furthermore, in learning a second language, pupils would be exposed to different cultures, which could help them to understand and embrace diversity. There are different actions that could be put in place to tackle the concerns raised by those who are against this policy. For instance, pupils could learn the second language in short sessions and in a ludic-centred approach. Moreover, governments could destinate specific funding for either capacitating the primary schools’ teachers or hiring professionals with the necessary language skills. In conclusion, the benefits of learning a second language at a younger age are numerous, and under no circumstances should funding constraints or preconceptions beliefs hamper its implementation.