Many people leave the countryside for the greater opportunities which are offered by cities. This move is not without disadvantages for both people and the environment. What are some benefits and drawbacks of urbanization?

It is true that an increased number of people migrate from rural areas to cities in pursuit of a better living. In this essay, I will discuss some of the merits and downsides attributed to this phenomenon. There are a number of advantages attributed to urban migration. Firstly, the rise in urban population can augment the workforce in society by increasing the number of workers. In addition, people who move to major cities might find it easier to get a job, owing to the fact that cities have a more significant number of job opportunities. Consequently, unemployment figures will drop significantly on a national level. Additionally, people living in the countryside, often tend to be more aware of the original culture of the country and connected to it. Therefore, by integrating with urban residents, cultural heritage could be imported into main cities and introduced to its locals. On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks associated with the increased influx of suburbans to main cities. The detrimental effect on the environment is one of the major examples to highlight. Overpopulation would likely result in more cars and the use of public transport in cities, which lead to an increased level of pollution and therefore damage the environment. Furthermore, the rise in urban migration will put a strain on infrastructures and negatively impact the quality of essential services such as health care and waste collection. Moreover, this trend can lead to rural depopulation, leading to a lack of human resources and basic services in suburbs and villages. In conclusion, urban migration can have a positive influence on society. However, there a are few crucial drawbacks that cannot be ignored.