Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Nowadays an increasing number of parents are letting children make their own decisions on different life issues. While some argue that letting youngsters make choIces by themselves concerning day-to-day matters will lead to a community made up of people who only think of themselves. Others believe that it is crucial to empower children to make resolutions on issues that have an effect on them. In my opinion, I agree with the former view. On one hand, letting children make decisions on daily matters such as meals, attires and entertainment will make them less considerate of others. This is because these young ones do not have the ability to discern right from wrong so they are just unable to put other peoples needs before their own. As they grow, these habits are cemented if parents do not step in to guide them. For example, my sister's older child would always want to watch spider man even if his younger sister would be crying for something different so he grew up to be a selfish young man. On the other hand, it is important to let these young people make decisions on things that concern them because it will teach them to be more responsible. When a child makes a choice, and it turns out to be a bad choice that leads to terrible consequences they will learn to make better decisions in the future. For instance, if a child chooses to eat more ice cream than they should and ends up with a diarrhea, they will learn that ice cream should be eaten in moderation. To conclude, while letting children make their own choices will lead to a society of people who are selfish others still contend that when it comes to matters that concern them, youngster should be left to make those decisions on their own.