During the last century, the phenomenal popularity of cars has meant that the world’s environment is now at risk. Some scientists, claim that motor vehicles have contributed to the rise in the word’s temperature. What motivates people to buy cars and what can we do to stop people from buying them?

Many communities now value cars as their main form of transport. However, scientists claim that the pollution from vans is causing environmental problems. This essay will examine why cars are so popular and what can be done to discourage folk from buying them. People choose to buy cars because they are a convenient method of transport. For example, while on holiday, people who own a car can easily travel to destinations that are not accessible by public transport. Thus, there are no limitations on where to travel, and they do not have to worry about bookings and timetables. Cars also make it easier for parents to travel with young children. Cars remove the worry and hassle of walking with children to public transport or changing between different modes of transportation. To prevent people from purchasing cars, governments can encourage the use of public transport and increase the cost of driving. Firstly, existing transport systems could be made cheaper, more frequent, and more accessible. With these improvements, the people would be more inclined to use public transport, rather than owning a car. In addition, councils could enforce higher parking fees or charge people to drive into city areas. This is being done in some cities in England where drivers must display a special sticker to show that they have paid to enter a city area. In conclusion, cars are popular because of their convenience. In order to reduce the problems, this may cause to the environment, governments must give serious consideration to ways in which citizens can be encouraged to use alternative transport that is less damaging to the environment.