Education and health care should be funded by the government and free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Education and health care are basic necessities for everyone. Without proper education and health care system, no nation can prosper. Some people might opine that it is the responsibility of the government to provide basic education and health care to every citizen for free of cost. I believe that this is ideal. A substantial population of developing countries is illiterate, as per surveys. Most children in these developing countries do not get access to basic education. This obviously stunts their progress in real life. The reason for this can be attributed to the cost associated with the same. Many families cannot actually afford educating their children. For example, in rural Pakistan, most of children resort to labour because their parents are unable to afford to send them to school. These young kids work in places like restaurants so they can support their families. Hence, I believe that it should be the responsibility of the government to provide basic education to everyone. Moreover, in developing countries life expectancy is lower compared to developed countries. Infant mortality is also a cause of concern in these countries. A lot of them can be traced back to illiteracy. Most of the population is without any health insurance and per capita income is low. These factors contribute to lowest life expectancy in developing countries. Taking Pakistan’s example again, most cases of cancer go unnoticed because families do not have money to get a diagnosis done. Affording the expensive procedure is a challenge for a lot of people. Governments should help people by giving them free health services. In conclusion, getting health care facilities and access to education is the right of every tax payer citizen. We are all entitled to basic necessities from the government.